Getting More and More Remote from Communication

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Pianoteacher, Oct 18, 2015.

1. Pianoteacher
      Alone

Pianoteacher Member

Tinnitus Since:
      At least 2006
      Hi Everyone,
      I have had tinnitus for at least 9 years and have just found out about this support group. I think I need some support because my tinnitus is getting worse and I am frequently depressed about it. When I was 46, I went to an audiologist and got hearing aids. I was a classroom teacher at the time and my management had slipped due to my hearing. It helped, but as the years went by, it got worse in the classroom. I retired on disability last November because I wasn't able to hear kids talking in the back of the classroom, and I can't hear whispering. My husband has to repeat things all the time and frequently (who can blame him?) gets impatient and yells it. I am feeling more and more excluded in conversations because I can't hear over my tinnitus when people are mumbling or talking softly. It is breaking my heart when my kids and their friends want to have meaningful conversations with me in restaurants, etc. (with ambient noise) and I miss important parts. I tell people to please speak up or please say it again, but you can only do that so many times. My 98 year-old father in-law lives with us who has been practically deaf for a long time. We have to yell at him, literally yell as loud as we can for him to hear us and I see how he's just not involved much in life anymore because he's not able to hear and people give up communicating because it's too hard to yell all the time.