Had This as Long as I Can Remember

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Valarie, Sep 21, 2017.

1. Valarie
      Stressed

Valarie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1980?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello, all. Glad to find this forum! I am a 56 y.o. Grandmother and have had ringing in my ears for as long as I can remember. Never had it diagnosed because it was just background noise. Interesting in the quiet to discern the different levels of tone. ( there are at least 3, sometimes more)

The past year it seems to be getting worse, sometimes interferring with hearing, but not bad enough to seek help. But it is getting rather annoying! Ack!

I am a volunteer firefighter/ bagpiper, and work outdoors.

I have been looking for ways to mask the noise, without success.

Has anyone tried the earphones PureWave that vibrates the cheek bones instead of buds going in the ear? Great sound, but haven't found the right combination to mask the ringing.

2. Kolisar
      No Mood

Kolisar Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      birth?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hello @Valarie, and welcome.

I cannot answer your making questions, but as one who is of similar age and has had tinnitus my entire life (multiple tones, both ears) I wanted to at least say "hello" and welcome you to the forum.

I have read of the earphones that transmit sound through the jaw, but have never used them. If you do try a set, please share your experience with us as I am sure that am not the only other member here who would be interested.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. Scared111

Scared111 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown