Has Long Hours of Driving Started Off My Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JayS, Dec 8, 2014.

1. JayS

JayS Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Maybe from Long hours or on road or concerts
      I have just joined tinnitus talk after having Tinnitus for around 2 years. I suppose i have done what a lot of you have, tried a number of "remedies", books and not had much luck so far.

I have been a van driver for 8 years. Just a small diesel van but I do many long hours on the road.
      For the first 6 years driving I had no problem. 2 years ago the tinnitus kicked in and i am wondering if anyone has had a similar scenario at all?? or has problems with tinnitus and car/van driving??
      I am thinking the constant whine of the engine and tyres on tarmac has somehow caused the tinnitus.
      These days driving really seems to increase the loudness of my Tinnitus and it takes a while after for it to calm down. But I am still putting in a lot of hours on the road, currently at the point where I am about to quit my job just for some relief. I sometimes where earphones and listen to something calming when driving while still being able to be aware of the road. But this always causes Hyperacusis after a few hours.
      Any advice from anyone?
      Thanks
      also had recent hearing test and have been told I have good hearing

2. Jesse Pinkman
      Badass

Jesse Pinkman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2011
      Ive read articles about truck drivers being more exposed to tinnitus compared to the general population. I think the reason for this is that the cause of tinnitus is not only exposure to loud volumes. Its also a matter of time frame. Im pretty certain that low to moderate volumes over large time frames, especially without any breaks, can cause tinnitus...

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      JayS

JayS Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Maybe from Long hours or on road or concerts