Hearing Loss After IPL Patch Test Behind Ear?

Discussion in 'Support' started by mitmit, Jan 7, 2020.

1. mitmit

mitmit Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown+music
      Hello everyone. This is my first post, although I have a long history with tinnitus/hyperacusis/hearing loss. It started when I was 14. I am now 22. It has marred my university years (I am now in my fourth year, and will be starting a PhD after). But my present post is to vent frustration and also to ask some advice.

Last Thursday (the 2nd of Jan) I had a consultation for IPL treatment (Intense Pulsed Light) to treat a small red patch on my face. This included a 'test patch' of IPL, which was done behind the ear. Unfortunately, it was done on the soft part of the tissue, and I seem to have lost quite a bit of my hearing that day. I noticed it within an hour of the test patch. In particular, I can't seem to hear low tones and reverberation, like when I am speaking, and very high notes. When I have tried to listen to music, I lose so much detail of what is coming in that ear. I have been struggling to hear both my guitar and my voice when I am playing, and I have my right ear to the guitar, but I am fine with my left ear. I also have a slight increase in tinnitus. I recall that the day after I had a couple of instances of high pitched squeeling in my ear, which receded.

Firstly, I am puzzled. I am still not sure how I could have had this effect. And secondly, I am really upset. I had only started listening to music through earphones (at a reasonable volume) again within the last month. This was the first time in 8 years, and now everything sounds off. I only started going out within the last couple of months, and was really enjoying myself. And now I have this from a source completely unrelated to loud music. I am struggling to focus on my work again.