Hello, Not Sure What This is or What to Do.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Rob Johnson, Sep 29, 2016.

1. Rob Johnson

Rob Johnson Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise / Stress
      Hello All,

My story starts about 6 or so weeks ago. I am 43, a drummer, loud music lover etc, I run sound for bands etc. I've been playing in a rock band for about 5 years... very loud, no ear protection, etc. About a year ago, after an especially loud evening I woke up a couple of days later to a new feeling in my left ear, some fullness, and a dull tone around 2.5k. I've lived with this because I never really let it bother me, and I can really only hear it in dead silence or plugging my ear. My right ear has seemed ok, maybe only a high pitched ring in dead silence, very quiet, have never let it bother me.

Everything was fine except for some reason about 6 weeks ago, I started to worry about my hearing, (I'm a bit of a high strung person and I worry alot about things.) I started to let things get to my head about my I described above.. "maybe it's from something serious, maybe it's wax.. etc.." I have no clue why I all of a sudden started this... I'm in a small town, we really don't have an ENT around. I probably wouldn't have gone anyway because there wasn't anything even wrong, at this point.

A couple weeks went by and I'm still worrying about my ears, for really no reason other than me focusing in on what I had not let bother me in the past... worrying about doing further damage, what the future might hold, maybe its wax etc. . I go to lunch with a co-worker and we go to a restaurant that we always go to.. its a big open room, no carpet, very lively, somewhat noisy.. As we are sitting there, I start to hear this high-pitched tone coming in around 11khz, it fills my head and the front of my hearing... really freaking me out. I couldn't touch my food, waited for my friend to eat sitting there in horror.