Hi — I Am New to Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dfl, Jul 26, 2015.

1. dfl

dfl Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      exposure to explosions/stress/who knows?
      About seven weeks ago I first got tinnitus and learning how to live with this new thing (now that some of the vertigo has died down) has been a challenge. I know that I am not alone though

2. Tennrltr
      Depressed

Tennrltr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      December 2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Fall in 2014
      Best of luck, there are some really nice and helpful people on here....God Bless

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      dfl

dfl Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      thank you so much for replying- means a lot

4. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      Hi, dfl, and welcome!

It isn't easy learning how to live with tinnitus, especially right at first. We have a lot of tips for new tinnitus sufferers here. Also, be sure to look at the "Don't Panic" section on our home page of this forum, for information, tips, and sounds you can download to help you through this rough period.

I know what you mean about the vertigo --- I suffered from off and on vertigo for quite awhile when my T first began. But the good news, at least for me, is that it did finally go away. I think it has to do with the Eustachian tubes, and the fact that your brain and body have to adjust to this new condition.

Better days are ahead for you, though. The best advice I can give you is to try to get enough sleep, if possible, and live your life as normally as possible. In time, your mind will adjust, and you'll be more able to shift the tinnitus to a back burner.

We're glad you've joined us, and are here to help and support you through these first difficult days.

Best wishes,