Hyperacusis and TTTS Getting Better

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Andymo, Sep 6, 2020.

1. Andymo

Andymo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Early May 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possible earbuds and/oxoticity
      Hi folks,

I have been a longtime lurker on this forum and it has proved an invaluable lifeline to me after I developed hypercusis and TTTS since May this year.

Like most people, our lives have been thrown upside down due to the impact of COVID-19 which only adds to our woes.

A timeline of events:

Mid May: developed fluttering in my left ear.

Mid June: exasperated by significant bouts of pain that came and went every other day. Two weeks leave off work. I am a contractor so did not get paid. Significant insomnia, could not perform effectively at work. I muddled through and developed significant depression and anxiety. Antidepressants. Mild hyperacusis: feedback from dishes, bags and cutterly etc. Now largely gone.

August: my contract was not renewed, largely based on my performance that was seriously hampered by my condition. Depression worsened due to lay off. Saw an ENT who was predictably as effective as a Chocolate Tea Pot. Fair to say I knew more than him, having immersed myself in this forum for 4 months.

September: focusing on my new predicament has allowed me to take my mind off the TTTS, which is an anxiety based condition. Only now mild flutter and the once ear pain went from a 8/10 some days to now not even an ache.

CAUSE and MORAL: stay away from using earbuds for long periods, folks! Or adopt the 60 minutes at 60% volume rule: even better don't use them at all! Though I don't know if this was the definitive cause, it seems highly likely. I binned them.

Now: I still have depression largely as result of job loss but my ear is now one less thing to worry about.

I wish you all hope in your struggles and owe thanks to @Michael Leigh and others for providing invaluable support on this forum.