I Am a Newbie, Went to ENT, Open Eustachian Tube?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by rockymtnhi, Nov 30, 2017.

1. rockymtnhi

rockymtnhi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      november 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hi,

I have had tinnitus off and on over the last few years, but it tends to go away. But about 4 months ago I started having an echoing effect with sound. I went to an ENT and the audiologist did a sound test and I appears my eustachian tube(s) are open.

Lately, loud sounds, such as metal hitting metal, or hard plastic hitting something hard is almost painful, makes me wince.

The last few days, I have been experiencing tinnitus that you all know can drive you batty. I have a follow-up appointment with ENT in January.

Just looking for suggestions, not sure what source is, have had earwax problems (used q-tips too much).

Plan on stop drinking caffeine, and cut back on sugar intake. I take lisinopril-hydrochlorothiazide for high bp. I plan on stopping this also to see if it makes a difference.

Thanks for any advice.

2. dingaling
      Asleep

dingaling Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown, probably loud music
      I don't understand...what test did the audiologist do for him to say your Eustachian tubes were open?

3. Aaron44126
      Balanced

Aaron44126 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Eustachian tube dysfunction (from infection / labyrinthitis)
      That's "patulous Eustachian tube" (PET)... A characteristic sign is that you can hear your own voice "echoing" much more loudly than it should be in your ear/head when you speak. I've had this a few times during my troubles with ETD but only for a few moments at a time. You can look up the condition by this name and see if you can find any remedies, but I'm not aware of any "quick fixes". It sounds like you are already addressing your diet, which can help.

• Agree Agree x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR