I Don't Know What Silence Sounds Like

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Cory B., Jun 21, 2015.

1. Cory B.

Cory B. Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concerts
      Hi everyone. My name is Cory....and I'm 17 years old. It may seem difficult to believe, but I have been dealing with this ringing sound since I was 13 or 14. It's been so long I cannot remember. I work as a live sound engineer regularly, and have been exposed to loud music (95 dB+) every week since I was 12. I cannot remember what silence sounds like.

I always thought it would go away. That I would be fine the next morning. But that never happened. My parents think it's nothing serious and my siblings don't seem to care. My girlfriend is there for me but she doesn't physically understand it. My tinnitus is a high pitched ringing in both ears, and it doesn't ever seem to be getting better. At the very best it's the same.

Recently (the last couple of days), I've lost sleep. With summer break, I've been avoiding having to go to bed because I can't stand to hear the "silence" of my bedroom, and ambient noise is the only thing that seems to help, if it even does that.

I am a young, unsure, scared person and I was hoping to get some help...an encouraging word, anything. Nobody cares that I can't remember what silence sounds like.

• Hug Hug x 3
    2. Tamika
      No Mood

Tamika Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      One loud indoor concert
      Hi Cory and Welcome:welcomesignanimation:

I'm am sad to read your story as you are so young. You will find many wonderful people on this forum who understand. I am new and struggling and have been touched by other people who have reached out to give me a welcome and words of encouragement. You have found a great forum. I'm sure more experienced people will be able to give you suggestions regarding helpful treatment. Reading the Success Stories is a great place to start.