If Tinnitus Goes Away, Does It Happen Instantly or in a Gradual Manner?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Aaaron8, Apr 15, 2020.

1. Aaaron8

Aaaron8 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 20
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all,

I am still very new to Tinnitus Talk and tinnitus in general. However I am just wondering when your tinnitus goes away, does it just stop or is it a gradual, unnoticeable feeling? Do you wake up and it's gone or is it something that happens during the daytime?

I am curious as mine has fluctuated a lot over the past few days. Sometimes I feel like it's going away and then a few hours later it's as if it is playing a joke on me and comes on again. I am still trying to be optimistic and tell myself it might go.

Would love to hear from anyone who has been relieved of this horrible thing.

A

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Tybs

Tybs Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Fall from stairs
      Completely depends on the cause of tinnitus. My first encounter with tinnitus was about five years ago, when a pile of earwax caused a constant tone in my right ear. This did not change a bit until the wax got removed by an ENT after three months: boom, instantly gone.

My current tinnitus has an alternate cause (neck trauma), and has degraded over time when fysio started, down to the current baseline. Massive difference compared to the start, but it happened gradually.

• Like Like x 2
    3. Nothisispatrick

Nothisispatrick Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Don’t know