I'm Depressed — 18-yo with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Ichigo, Sep 8, 2015.

1. Ichigo
      Supportive

Ichigo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise trauma
      Hi guys... I'm a 18yo student from Poland and I got tinnitus in June 2015 on a very loud screamo concert (Asking Alexandria). I didn't wear any protection because I thought it was just a one time event... And I had no idea of what it could do to me. I went to hospital asap, I got drugs, but it only helped for 10 days. The tinnitus returned and stayed.
      Every day I'm feeling more and more suicidal.
      I can't go to school without being almost scared to death of someone shouting in my ear. I don't feel comfortable when the whole class suddenly starts clapping hands or laughing very loudly and I have to cover my ears. My dad once said that if I do that, people will think I'm mentally ill. I've tried using earplugs in class but they caused my earwax to block my right ear's canal- now I can hear screeching even in noisy places.
      My class and school are both very noisy and I'm afraid of them.
      My ears hurt. It starts with jaw and goes up to my ear.
      I hear it all the time. I can't concentrate, it bothers me a lot. I'm about to pass my A level examinations this year but because of my brain overwhelmed by thoughts and noise I'm not able to study.
      It gets worse when I drink alcochol or smoke. I do these two activities because of the anxiety connected with T...
      I am concerned that it's all my fault, standing in the first row and shouting like crazy without thinking of the consequences.
      People don't seem to understand, they can't understand it may last forever and maybe I'm forever, somewhat, cursed. When I told one friend that I had screeching in my ears, she said "you have screeching in your brain"...