I'm Fairly New to This Whole Thing... Is It Possible for My Tinnitus to Subside in Time?

Discussion in 'Support' started by trc, Sep 17, 2018.

?

Is it possible for my tinnitus to subside in time?

1. Yes

2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
    1. trc
      Alone

trc Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all,

I recently uprooted from my life in New Zealand as a recruitment consultant in IT to go and work in Berlin, Germany. I arrived July 30th and work went well for the first two weeks, except for the fact that the airline lost my luggage and I was living out of hand luggage for two weeks, all the while hunting for flats to sign up to which is tough in Berlin.

Anyway, a colleague invited me to a club in Berlin for her 30th, where we had a great time outside dancing, and then later on indoors when they closed the outside area. I had some speed which was on offer, which I normally do not do as I am already quite an anxious and wound-up person. I left the club at 2:30am and got home, unable to sleep and in a panic for the next 16 hours as to when sleep would come for me and why I had done this to myself in a foreign country on my own.

Eventually I found sleep at 8pm that evening, and went to work rather gingerly that Monday. On Tuesday, I noticed a faint ring in my left ear which I dismissed as unimportant for the remainder of the week. Then, I read stories on Google and realised I might have had Tinnitus. I panicked and went to ED, two ENT surgeons and a GP who all told me it was likely to be stress-induced and that I needed to calm my anxiety and it too should pass. I had audiograms done which demonstrated a high-frequency hearing loss in the left ear, however the ENT surgeons pointed out that it is impossible to know whether this damage existed before the night at the club.