Introduction from a Lifelong Member of Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by trft2, Apr 13, 2020.

1. trft2

trft2 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      No idea - maybe ear invections
      Hi, I'm just over 70 and a lifelong member of tinnitus. I definitely remember it from when I was an altar boy. It wasn't a problem. It was just this slight sound, always the same, that would come and go. Honest to God, I thought maybe it was God. I thought I had a vocation.

It became a contest of wills and sometimes a problem when I was a programmer. A new computer would make some kind of constant sound that I would have to tinker with until the computer sound would go away. And this would happen about every four years. In 2002 - 2003 it became significant. I was suicidal. For about 30 minutes I kept thinking two things 1) I have to kill myself & 2) "No, I can't do that." Eventually I voluntarily went to a lock down ward at a hospital for a week.

That was the worst. I was dx as bipolar 1, which isn't even f**king close, but the meds helped. So I'm not complaining too much. I was officially taken off my meds in January over a year with no problems. A month later, I don't know what, but the tinnitus was a problem again. I can handle it, but boy oh boy I wish there was a cure. Now, if I concentrate on something, anything really other than thinking about the tinnitus, after an hour I'm OK. And yeah, a glass or two of wine helps, but that's not a great solution.

You just keep thinking there are lots of people who have this and wow it's a pretty weird thing. Mine's high pitch and if I grit my teeth I can make it louder. My guess the brain's wiring is too small. I need a bigger head :)

• Hug Hug x 7
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    2. Bartoli

Bartoli Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2009,worsened 2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Welcome. Please tell me, how do I unsubscribe from this lifelong membership?

• Like Like x 2