Is It "Normal" to Have Ear Pain/Pressure with Tinnitus Spikes?

Discussion in 'Support' started by carolinet617, Jul 9, 2019.

1. carolinet617
      Tired

carolinet617 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Bupropion (Wellbutrin), TMJ, possible ETD
      Hi there!

I have tinnitus caused (most likely) by a past medication. It fluctuates week to week between being quiet enough that I can mostly ignore it and so loud that it completely interferes with my life and I lose sleep and have suicidal thoughts.

When the tinnitus is bad, it is almost always accompanied by pain and pressure in the ears as well. I am currently waiting to get tested for Meniere's as I have a history of dizziness and vertigo, but my main question is: if I DON'T have Meniere's, is tinnitus with pain/pressure a common thing? I don't think I have hyperacusis (though I may be misunderstanding it since I'm new to this!) because it isn't triggered by noise and I don't feel sensitive to noise, it's just constantly there. Also, my hearing is normal. I just wasn't sure if there were people out there with tinnitus that consistently is paired with pain & pressure without an underlying illness behind it.

Thank you!
      Caroline

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. ChrisBoyMonkey

ChrisBoyMonkey Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Hi Caroline,

Personally I don't have ear pain/pressure but there are quite a few threads of other members talking about it on here. In the main menu, search ear pain and you will see there a few to take a look at.

It seems to be a normal thing that comes with the tinnitus. As for hyperacusis, that's more if sounds cause pain or if they sound louder than they should. If the tinnitus is getting in response to sounds, that is called reactive tinnitus.