It's Always Been This Way for Me — Tinnitus Since I Can Remember

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by LeighO, Dec 26, 2021.

1. LeighO

LeighO Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/1974
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      As long as I can remember (I'm in my 50s) I've had the eeeeeeeeeeeeee/ngggggggggggggg going on bilaterally. It feels like it comes from within my head. I honestly didn't even recognize I "had tinnitus" until I started learning about it. I just thought everyone had this background noise.

Likely my tinnitus originates from a bunch of ear infections I had as a child that then resulted in me getting tubes in my ears, which perforate the eardrum in order to drain fluid from the Eustachian tubes. However I can't be absolutely sure this is the source. I have been to live shows that were loud but there was no moment where I realized the noise was louder. It's just always been there for me.

I am a scientist by profession but I am a passionate audio-nut audiophile with tubes, vinyl, nice speakers, a dedicated listening room with acoustic treatments, etc. I ***love*** the quiet despite the background head-noise. So I think by never assuming it was anything out of normal, my tinnitus is there screaming away but it's just there. I joke to myself that my brain runs a bit hot, and the tinnitus is evidence of that. I also joke to myself that as long as I have tinnitus, I know I'm alive haha (trying to put a positive spin on it). For sure if I really focus on it it can bum me out, but then I just forget about it.