Jaw Prolotherapy: Cautionary Tale

Discussion in 'Support' started by mrbrightside614, Dec 18, 2021.

1. mrbrightside614

mrbrightside614 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hey y’all, it’s been a while since I’ve been active. I’d been trying to get back into the swing of things with my lawsuit concerning the accident resolving, picking up lifting again after receiving the vaccine, finishing my Master's etc.

I come back with a word of caution, and perhaps digging for some insight. I had been undergoing splint therapy for my jaw for the last two years, and for all intents and purposes it has been ineffective, but never aggravating. Recently, since my TMJD had not been responding to the slow and steady approach, my dentist proposed prolotherapy injections. I didn’t think my jaw had much to do with my tinnitus at all at this point, and after checking safety precautions related to tinnitus, decided the worst thing that could happen would be receiving no positive results. Well, I was wrong.

3 days after the injection I experienced fleeting tinnitus in my non-tinnitus ear (true somatic tinnitus), fleeting spikes in the tinnitus ear, and a little bit of heightened sensitivity. I didn’t really think much of it, because the spikes were fleeting and since I was still palpably swollen, figured it would resolve after the projected healing timeline of ~1 month. Well, it has been a month and a half and my tonic level of tinnitus is continuing to rapidly spiral upwards, and I’d now qualify my formerly moderate-to-sometimes-mild tinnitus as severe. I’m tapering off of high dose Prednisone which I started taking about 11 days ago when the tinnitus started to wake me from my sleep and cause my heart to race. I’ve had to step back up on my Seroquel dose (now 125 mg from 100 mg) and still have issues getting, and staying asleep. Basically I am back in hell.