Labyrinthitis After a Rainy Football Practice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Nick Nelson10, Nov 19, 2018.

1. Nick Nelson10

Nick Nelson10 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sickness after a football practice. Lead to labyrinthitis
      What's up, everyone. My name is Nick. I'm a student at Georgetown University, and my tinnitus has recently been giving me a lot of struggles. I got tinnitus in October of 2104 after a rainy football practice. You're probably thinking that I got a concussion or something, right? Nope. Like I said, the practice was outside when it was raining and very windy. Once I got back to my room at boarding school, I noticed that my ear was ringing. I was very concerned, kept asking my roommate if his ear was ringing too (not sure why I would have asked that, but I remember doing so). I woke up the next morning with symptoms of labyrinthitis: intense dizziness, vertigo, nausea, and consequent hearing loss. The verdict was that I lost 40% of hearing in my left ear, meaning that I can't hear vowel sounds very well and other low-pitched frequencies. The worst part, in my opinion, was getting permanent tinnitus from this sickness.