Looking for Input (& My Story)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mellow7, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Mellow7

Mellow7 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hey everyone,

First of all I'd like to thank all of you for the continued support you give those afflicted by T, even those who are silent onlookers at first (like I was for the first few weeks). It helped me frame my problem and read up on similar stories.

My T began during exams (I'm currently in my last year of law school), which was a pretty stressful period o its own and the onset of T certainly did not help. In the end I did pass all my classes this semester, so I am very glad for that.

The reason I have finally chosen to post here is because I'm facing a little dilemma, which I will get to at the end of my story. If any of you would like to read it and give your thoughts, that would be greatly appreciated!

So, I'd like to start out by stating I've always had a bit of a problem with my ears. I had ear tubes two or three times when growing up because of ETD. When I was 10 to 12 years old, I had quite a bit of hearing loss due to my ETD, but it somehow seemed linked to water exposure when swimming. When I stopped swimming for a while or (later) started using ear plugs specifically designed to block out water, the hearing loss went away and it would turn back normal. The reason I mention this period is because I distinctly remember hearing a 'whooshing' sound in one or both of my ears during that time which seemed rhythmically coming and going with my heartbeat. As I grew into puberty all these problems sort of disappeared.