Loud Music Through Headphones (+ Anxiety and Panic Attacks) Probably Caused My Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mr Chinnery, Aug 11, 2021.

1. Watch Hazel share good news about tinnitus
    1. Mr Chinnery

Mr Chinnery Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Induced
      Hello there.

I first discovered I had tinnitus in January of 2020.

I am a DJ and producer and was engineering music in headphones very loudly one weekend. Nothing happened immediately, in fact it took a whole four days until I developed a little 16-bit Nintendo jingle in my left ear. It is only my left ear for some reason.

I believe it to be the loudness of the music which caused this, although I had also been suffering anxiety and panic attacks prior which I believe can be contributing factors for such auditory conditions. This noise was mildly irritating, but changed into a distressing loud whistle which in turn subsided back to the familiar 16 bit ditties in under a week.

Believing this to be a minor temporary aliment I flew to Germany, as I was booked to perform at a rave in a club. I was unsure but I wore earplugs. Bear in mid these were crap earplugs with useless dB protection and I was near speakers. The tinnitus returned louder which freaked me out and I cancelled all upcoming bookings. The spike lasted under a week.

Then COVID-19 happened which was the perfect time to rest my ears. I had two sets of custom earplugs made up during this time 30 dB and 35 dB reduction and my tinnitus was fine. I was able to listen to music as normal at home without any problems even without plugs.

All the way until late June 2021 when I got a tattoo.