Loud Music Through Headphones (+ Anxiety and Panic Attacks) Probably Caused My Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mr Chinnery, Aug 11, 2021.

1. Mr Chinnery

Mr Chinnery Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Induced
      Hello there.

I first discovered I had tinnitus in January of 2020.

I am a DJ and producer and was engineering music in headphones very loudly one weekend. Nothing happened immediately, in fact it took a whole four days until I developed a little 16-bit Nintendo jingle in my left ear. It is only my left ear for some reason.

I believe it to be the loudness of the music which caused this, although I had also been suffering anxiety and panic attacks prior which I believe can be contributing factors for such auditory conditions. This noise was mildly irritating, but changed into a distressing loud whistle which in turn subsided back to the familiar 16 bit ditties in under a week.

Believing this to be a minor temporary aliment I flew to Germany, as I was booked to perform at a rave in a club. I was unsure but I wore earplugs. Bear in mid these were crap earplugs with useless dB protection and I was near speakers. The tinnitus returned louder which freaked me out and I cancelled all upcoming bookings. The spike lasted under a week.

Then COVID-19 happened which was the perfect time to rest my ears. I had two sets of custom earplugs made up during this time 30 dB and 35 dB reduction and my tinnitus was fine. I was able to listen to music as normal at home without any problems even without plugs.

All the way until late June 2021 when I got a tattoo.