Lurking on Tinnitus Talk Since 2016 → Now with Pain Hyperacusis from Naproxen

Discussion in 'Support' started by yeezysqueezy, Mar 15, 2023.

1. yeezysqueezy

yeezysqueezy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      TBI? + concerts + naproxen
      TL;DR: I had mild tinnitus for years with history of concussion. Tinnitus worsened 10-fold and got pain hyperacusis (stabbing pain, burning pain now sometimes in silence, much worse on the right) after 5-day course of Naproxen for autoimmune issue in January 2023. I get intermittent fullness and TONS of TTTS spasms on the left. I got a morse code tone on the right that seems to have improved. I'm in third year of medical school but will now probably never become a doctor. Terrified of this ruining my relationship (boyfriend of 4 years and I were probably going to be engaged next year). Painfully isolated from everyone in my life. Life has come to a screeching halt and I don't know what I should be doing right now/how to survive the "waiting" period.​

Hi everyone. Looking for some support/advice/a listening ear from anyone who is willing. I'm trying to keep my head high but today has just felt like rock bottom for me. Wondering when I will run out of tears.

Finally made an account and now posting after almost 7 years on and off reading of Tinnitus Talk. I've gained so much valuable information here over the years and I think of everyone here frequently.

So I guess to share some of my story (some details may be irrelevant but thought I would include just in case). Since I was pretty young, I've loved EDM music and this was probably the beginning of my downfall. Music was always my escape. I always kept my earbuds at less than 30% but loved blasting it in the car (not sure what my reasoning was there).