Mild Hyperacusis (?), Distortions, Tinnitus That Reacts to Noise — Symptoms of Allergies?

Discussion in 'Support' started by FireFox93, Apr 25, 2022.

1. FireFox93
      Spaced

FireFox93 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2020 / March 28th, 2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      2020: VSS / 2022: H/T Unknown
      Hello! I’m new to Tinnitus Talk and was wondering something.

A few weeks ago I noticed my hearing wasn’t normal like I remembered. Best way I can describe it is mildly distorted but even then I don’t know what counts as distortion. I also noticed I got tinnitus that reacted to noise (i.e when I hear a fan). For a while I also heard a beeping noise but today it seems like it has gone pretty down. My right eardrum makes what I describe as a crackling or vibrating sound when I hear something loud. I also have what I think is noise sensitivity or at least a few sounds are a little louder than I remembered.

I got my ears checked and turns out, allergies made my eardrums retract. Could these be symptoms of that?

I should note that I don’t feel pain or discomfort around everyday sounds.

2. Rockman

Rockman Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise, allergy
      For right now I'd give your ears a break, maybe you caught it early enough before any serious damage could occur. Probably wouldn't listen to any loud music for a while. Hopefully it clears up soon.

• Like Like x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      FireFox93
      Spaced

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Yeah, thanks. In fact, I’m starting to think that I just have noise sensitivity from allergies and not actual hyperacusis.

4. kingsfan
      Haunting

kingsfan Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      9-17-2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      turning everything up to 11
      Do you feel pressure in your ears?