Musician with Tinnitus and Hyperacusis (Not Giving Up!)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Alessandro Rossi, Apr 18, 2016.

tinnitus forum
    1. Alessandro Rossi

Alessandro Rossi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2011
      Good Evening tinnitus mates,

New to the forum but really glad to have found it. I'm a musician and play in a small metal band here in Italy. Started to face tinnitus problems 8 years ago, as well as hyperacusis. Now I can't stand to enter rehearsal rooms without earplugs (NRR 33). And of course can't stand gigs/loud pubs without earplugs.
      Sometimes even with the protection I get strong headaches after gigs, with the ring getting louder for a week.
      I'm playing pink noise by night since 4 years and now I'm trying audio notch methods, doing my own mixes of notched pink noise (discovered notching here in the forum!) and sounds of nature.
      Anyway I'm not giving up with live music, I'm confident that in the near future we'll have more hopes of getting well.
      Any other musician here in the forum? How do you face T ?

• Like Like x 2
    2. JohnnyMx
      Sunshine

JohnnyMx Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Apr/2013
      Long time before my T getting louder, I noticed that using anything in my earcanals, like earphones without sound, made me feel a headache... Still today, I believe that, if I insert the earplugs so deep they make give me head, TMJ and ear pain. Maybe it's worth for you to check it out.

Regards!

3. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Hall of Fame Ambassador Team Research

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009