My hearing is my bread and butter

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by KatieMac145, Mar 17, 2014.

1. KatieMac145
      Overworked

KatieMac145 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/1975
      I'm a 9-1-1 dispatcher and I've just found out that the ringing I've had in my ears for my whole life is Tinnitus. It got markedly worse recently which is why I mentioned it at all. I thought everyone had this, "head noise." Anyway, I'm just starting out here and I'm wondering if it can affect your actual hearing as well because I'm having to more and more ask people to repeat themselves. It's not a volume thing as much as a comprehension problem. I'm going to see an E. N. T. so hopefully I'll get some answers soon. Thanks!

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      Hi, KatieMac, and welcome!

I'm sorry you're having problems with your tinnitus, and that it seems to be affecting your hearing as well. The answer to your question is --yes, it can definitely affect your hearing. Sometimes my tinnitus has been so loud that I have had to strain to hear what others are saying.

I'm glad you're going to see an ENT soon, and hopefully he/she will test your hearing and give you more information. However, if the ENT is not sympathetic or is unable to help you, you might try going to an audiologist in your area. Some of us have had better luck with knowledgeable audiologists than with ENT's.

Best of luck, and keep us posted on how you're doing. You've come to the right place for lots of information and support!

• Like Like x 2
    3. Magpie
      Sporty

Magpie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/15/1999