My Turn and My Story

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Johnnysback, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Johnnysback

Johnnysback Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hey everyone. Ive been perusing around these forums for awhile now and figured its time to join and introduce myself.

I guess ive always had some minor tinnitus ever since i can remember. I started playing music in my teens and played throughout middle school, high school and beyond. I remember long jam sessions and high volumes and feedback late into the night. Loud amps and drums were synonymous with heavy music back in the 80s just as they are today. Hell we were kids....the louder the better. I do recall going home after practice and having the ringing put me to sleep at night...but it never bothered me and it always seemed to subside.

After high school and throughout my twenties and thirties i continued to play music both live and in recording settings all with variable times of protection to using nothing at all. Earplugs always muffled the sound and just didnt sound "as good". One particular gig i recall walking by the PA system as a loud thud scared the hell out of me. Unfortunately i was affected in my left ear and noticed some hearing loss and ringing from then on that never subsided. I was pissed for a long time after the incident but i eventually got over it.