Need Advice... New To Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Swalker5, Dec 4, 2011.

1. Swalker5

Swalker5 Member

i am a 18 yr old student at Xavier University n Louisiana and i have tinnitus. starting back n November 2011, i started hearing a faint ringing in my ears. well, it gradually got worse to the point of annoyance. as a freshman in college, it has been very difficult to cope with tinnitus and cope with being a college student far away from home. it would really help me out if someone would give me some advice.

2. calin
      Inspired

calin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Oct 2011
      Hi Swalker!

Have you done any research on tinnitus? Internet?

Have you seen a doctor yet?

3. daedalus

daedalus Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2007
      Hello Swalker5,

Do you know how your tinnitus started ? When i was in university, i found very difficult to concentrate at first. Then, even if the tinnitus volume didn't go down, i found out i could concentrate again. You could use some sound masking, like a good water fountain. Try to find one with a pleasant sound. Not a too noisy water pump.

4. Jim
      Happy

Jim Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2007
      Welcome Swalker5, You should probably see your doctor to make sure you don't have some underlying medical cause. Read through these forums, there is lots of good info here to absorb. Don't freak out, stress feeds tinnitus. Get some good background sounds to distract your attention from the T. Was there a specific cause for the onset? Loud music or something?

5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Swalker5

Swalker5 Member

Yes, after i was diagnosed with tinnitus i started doing research to understand exactly what it is, and Yes i have been too multiple doctors and they cant seem to figure out how it started.

6. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Swalker5

Swalker5 Member