Need Some Support

Discussion in 'Support' started by Anphonic, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Anphonic

Anphonic Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music
      I've had tinnitus for as long as I can remember. I'm a musician and I'm sure it's due to years of exposure to loud music. It's never bothered me, EVER. But for some reason about a week a go I felt like it got louder. I felt my ear slowly closing up and the tinnitus became louder. Again, this really didn't bother me until I decided to Google about it (something I had never done) and I read about all the horror stories and suicide attempts and it freaked me out. I've always been known to sleep the with TV on so I've never really had issues sleeping. Even in quiet rooms. I'm sure it's because my mind got used to the noise and I just never noticed it. I use to have really bad panic attacks and was on prozac (10mg) for a couple of years a while back for something unrelated. I got back on it last month (again due to something unrelated/same dosage) and it's been ok, definitely helped. Lately I've been reading more and more first hand accounts with people who've had it forever too and it sort of made me panic. Yesterday I had been drinking somewhat heavily and I woke up in the middle of the night to nothing but my tinnitus and it completely threw me in a downward spiral. I had thoughts of having to live with this for the rest of my life, possible hearing loss, I felt like I was going crazy. I was on the edge of a full blown panic attack, something I hadn't experienced in a LONG time.