New Here... DJ/Musician for Many Years

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Noel Castillo, Feb 23, 2015.

1. Noel Castillo

Noel Castillo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Hi Guys,

I have been dealing with ear problems for a while. I will start from the beginning so you have a better understanding.

I have been djing since 2008. In 2011 I went to europe for a gig.. My Hearing was fine when I went.. After my show I flew to Amsterdam to go to a Festival. I didn't have ear plugs because I never had issues before(I know stupid of me but there was no awareness really at the time like there is now in my scene...). When I was flying back home on the second leg from JFK airport to San Antonio I started to catch a cold and when I landed my left year did not want to equalize and it hurt really bad and it was like I went deaf in the left ear and I got really scared. I scheduled an appointment asap and they tested my hearing( to 8khz) and removed wax from my ears and recommended I get ear plugs. I got musician ear plugs with 25db filters. I had another gig in houston when I first received the plugs and all went well.. A few months last my ears started to get hyper sensitive.. had a couple gigs to finish the year and then it is now 2012 and now I have sensitive hearing and tinnitus. I just wore my ear plugs everywhere to avoid the sensitivity... not sure if that made things worse... because my brain adjusted to that reduction... and the tinnitus was not that bad at the time.. since then my hearing has also degraded rapidly... The audiologist I go to says I am fine.. but I don't think he is correct... I can not properly hear music.. It does not sound as clear.. And the hearing test only goes up to 8k ... It sounds like I have everything above 12khz gone... I also have these weird pains / stuffed up feelings in my ears... sometimes a weird feeling going down from my ear down the side of my neck and I feel it when I swallow. I found another audiologist that does testing up t