New Member - Musician here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Boots49, Jul 4, 2014.

1. Boots49

Boots49 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2013
      Hi,
      New member here.
      I'm a musician, and recently (at 64) got back into playing guitar out in bands. Things can get mighty loud up on a stage and I was ok at first, but a few months ago, a ringing would start in my ears an hour or so after the gig. It can continue on and usually dissipates after a few days. I bought some Musicians Pro ear plugs, and they do lessen (but muddy up) the volume when playing, but I still get the ringing afterwards.
      I hate to think that my only solution is to stop playing out in bands, because I love it!
      Hope to find some good advice here.
      Thanks all!

2. Ken219
      Frustrated

Ken219 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Summer of 1990
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure?
      I've always wonder what are 'Musicians Pro ear plugs' Are the BS or just delay the onset of T. With the DB level is it ever safe? Play 5 minutes walk outside for 15 minutes? What is the deal with 'Musicians Pro ear plugs'?

3. Strictlyt

Strictlyt Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2000
      Are those earplugs custom made for your ears?

4. timF
      Sporty

timF Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2007
      You should have earplugs custom made or else you there might be some leak...

You should be carefull. Tinnitus is annoying as hell.

5. gary
      Transparent

gary Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows
      Hi boots, I am going to be very honest here. If it were me I would quite right now while your tinnitus is mild. If it gets really bad, well just read some of the posts here, and how it can affect your state of well being. To me it is just not worth it.