Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Marc Stegeman, Nov 24, 2015.

1. Marc Stegeman

Marc Stegeman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2015
      Hi everyone

I'm Marc, an American living in France. I was a professional musician in my 20s and 30s, and while I was aware of the risks and did my best to protect my ears, I've had a mild tinnitus in the 10Khz range for decades. Never bothered me, and only noticed it at night if I actually paid attention to it.

Since August, after returning from a particularly stressful trip to Brazil, I was hit with a severe ringing at around 8Khz, loud as a whistling tea pot. It lasted a few days, then calmed down for a few weeks. In September, the loud 8KHz came back and has been getting progressively worse. I'm at the 4 month mark now of this new and extremely loud tinnitus.

All the doctors I've seen reply the same way: you were a musician, you're getting older (I'm 57), it's normal, get used to it.

But after living with tinnitus for decades, I know that what I'm experiencing now is vastly different.

To reduce inflammation, I took 9 days of prednisol (cortisone). I've changed my diet to mostly vegetarian, low carbs, and zero alcohol or cafeine. To promote nerve regeneration, I'm taking heavy doses of B1, B6, and I'm also taking B12, C, Magnesium, Zinc, Niacin, Inositol and multivitamins . I've also been trying out Pine Bark and Ginko Baloba (can't hurt). Last but not least, I bought an exercise bike to improve circulation to help get oxygen to my ears.

The problem has not gone away, but I've had a few "good" days over the past few weeks. Some days the ring turns into a hiss, and several times I've had the impression that the ringing from the left ear (or what my brain perceives as coming from the left ear) occasionally pulsates in and out. I'm assuming that any change is good news.