New to the Forum, but Now New to Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by George R., Jan 25, 2014.

1. George R.
      Caffeine

George R. Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2006
      Hi everyone

I'm George and have been a sufferer of Tinnitus and Hyperacusis. I refer to them as T and H. If you don't know what H is. That is a condition where sound is extremely painful and plays a role in the worsening of my T condition.

I've had T and H since March of 2006. My T had started a little earlier but wasn't full blown until after 2 concerts I attended over 2 nights. I did wear ear plugs, but the damage had already started. I'm a musician ( or was until I had to stop playing due to my condition) after March 2006 my world slowly began to change. The ringing and sensitivity had just started full time. I no longer could use a telephone held up to my ear or head phones for music playback. Sound in my world became painful at any volume. Basically put my life on hold. I was forced to wear ear plugs on a daily basis 18 hours a day. even indoors. I had to come to the realization that I had to stop being a musician and by December 2008 had sold all my guitars and gear. giving up something I loved and did for 20 years.