New to the Tinnitus Board

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by RCB, Dec 16, 2013.

1. RCB

RCB Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/1998
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      I am wanting to add to the knowledge of the Tinnitus world. Hopefully I can learn something too.
      I have tinnitus from hell. I really don't remember not having it. I don't remember having it in my twenties. But I do remember having it in my 30s, 40s and 50s. I am 60 now. I am an accountant. In another life I was musician. A bass player in a rock and roll band. I was also a professional French hornist for a while. How loud is my tinnitus? Well - it is louder than my vacuum cleaner. It never goes away and really never changes volume" much. It just seems more intense at times. I have been to an ENT and a knowledgeable audiologist. My tinnitus is not caused by my hearing anatomy. My hearing test results show me to be where many 50 year olds are. I had my hearing checked multiple times and found "that I have lost my "highs". My hearing is pretty much gone at 8,000 Hz. I know that this is not unusual for a 60 year old. I am considered to have mild to moderate hearing loss. Many or most people would not spend the money for hearing aids with that hearing test result. But, I did get the high end Widex hearing aids with the tinnitus mode. I am wondering is my tinnitus may be my brain's way of replacing the missing highs. I have found the wind chime or tubular bells mode usually does serve to distract me from the swarm of rabid cicadas in the middle of my head. I would recommend others consider the hearing aids. Being able to hear the "highs" with the hearing aids does distract me from the tinnitus. Without them my tinnitus interferes with my hearing in many situations. But the tinnitus is still there. I am going through a really intense episode now where I am having trouble coping with all this and the hearing aids are not helping. I am at the point now where I am planning to investigat