New to Tinnitus and Not Coping Very Well!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Dan H, Jan 4, 2016.

1. Dan H

Dan H Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2015
      Hi all

I'm new to the world of tinnitus and it's fair to say I'm not coping very well with it. I started noticing it around a month ago during a particularly nasty bout of tonsillitis, and was hoping that it was going to be temporary due to the infection. But as each day passes by I lose a bit more hope that this is the case, especially now that my throat is fine.

I have probably had a very mild form of tinnitus for as long as I can remember, as I have been able to hear a noise when in quiet surroundings and it did not bother me one bit. But around a month ago I started hearing a new, louder and more high pitched tone which I find I can hear in most environments. My only escape is when there is a fair amount of noise around me such as in a pub, or running water. This sudden addition of a new, more noticeable tone has had me very depressed recently and during my worst hours it has felt as though my life is basically ruined. I find it incredible that one month ago all I had to worry about was a throat infection and now it has come to this.

I do have a history of health anxiety, and I am aware that anxiety can make this a lot worse, but I don't think this is purely caused by anxiety. My biggest fear at the moment is that it is here to stay and I will not be able to cope with it, although I'm sure there are some people on here that have got it worse than me and have learnt to ignore it!

I do also have visual static which I have had for over six years, and I have read that there is a link between these two symptoms. But I am hoping this is not the case as I would not be very hopeful of it going away.