Newbie Here; Severe Vertigo, Increasing Tinnitus, Hearing Loss — Help?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by floridian2, Jan 27, 2021.

1. floridian2

floridian2 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unkown
      Dear Tinnitus Talk forum,

So glad I found you. The ENT has not helped at all, and I would welcome your voices of experience. I'll try to summarize; sorry for going on so long.

--Tinnitus since about 2012 but manageable, usually a low-medium roar and zinging or hissing sounds. History of ear infections as child and adult. (I'm 62.)

--October 16, 2020: awakened from a sound sleep to extreme 3-D room-spinning; violent vomiting for the next 6 hours (long after nothing was left). Could not walk or move, vertigo was that bad. Was so terrified; husband called 911 and I spent the night in the ER. CT scan there, blood tests, nothing. By 6am the morphine had calmed it and me down! Slept for a couple of days and was woozy and dizzy, but at least I could walk. ENT's advice was to wait and see, because he couldn't diagnose without knowing more. (no tests, I asked? No.)

--November 17th, 2020: SAME thing but no ER visit, since I knew what it was; the vomiting/bad vertigo only lasted 4 hours but the tinnitus was worse. ENT visit #2 showed I had lost hearing in left ear (my bad ear). Still no treatment; the advice was that if it happens again and you also experience hearing loss, come in for another test.

--January 24, 2021: Different thing: in the evening, increased tinnitus and a noticeable difference in what I can hear in the left (buzzy lower tones, metal-raspy sounding, and pitch is way off in that ear (a D sounds like a C or C sharp at best). So I went to sleep with emesis bags ready, and woke a couple of times, but it was just bad dizziness/nausea, not that insane three-dimensional-tumbleweed thing with violent vomiting. Managed not to throw up. (Hey, I'll take any victory at this point!)