Noise Damage to Ears?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Luckyloci, Apr 7, 2016.

1. Luckyloci

Luckyloci Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety- temporary(?) nihl
      Hello! I was't sure exactly where to post this, so I hope that this is alright.

I work as a security guard, and I was responding to some loud alarms (that I could hear from a building that was all the way across campus). I had those acoustic noise filters called "Dubs" in, but I dont think they may have saved my hearing, at such high decibles.

I was gonna be fine, as I was only in there for less than 5-8 minutes and nothing gelt wrong at the time (before I found out from a worker that they were testing systems and hadn't told me about it- boy, was I not happy about that), but later my obnoxious roommate had a sudden, HUGE blast of music come from the garage before quickly turning it down. I was napping right on the couch before this happened- and it was LOUD.
      I instant had some numb feeling in my hearing, and began hearing a worse amount of hearing that I normally do. I generally do have constant rinkng in my ears that seemed to be a lot before, but that seems so little in comparison to how they've been ringing, as of now.

I also got caught in the alarm for a single minute today, but I've kept plugs in, this time (real ear plugs- silicone moldables shoved in my ears, that says they reduce about 28-30 decibels).

If I keep it quiet as I have been constantly doing, aside those few incidents- will I have the chunk of hearing that I'm missing right now come back (temporay hearing loss)? I had great hearing before all of this, and it's be a shame to lose over something so silly.

I feel silly being so worried, but I'd be sad to lose that much of my hearing that I seem to be missing as of now.

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease