Piano Teacher Needs Some Advice on Ear Plugs

Discussion in 'Support' started by Dolly_S, Feb 21, 2017.

1. Dolly_S

Dolly_S Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      expose to loud sound
      Hi everyone, this is my first post in this forum, so let me briefly introduce my situation first.

I am piano teacher and my T seems getting louder and more new sound, and also T appear in my other ear last month.

I got tinnitus in my right ear around 2012 while I was a student of piano tuning and classical music. My T gets stronger after listening to piano temporary. I stop tuning about a year after I develop my T and continue playing piano.

Around May 2016 my right ear feel fullness and numb as I was practicing a lot hours everyday that time on my (I think) over resonance piano, so I stop practicing for 2 weeks and luckily my ear feels better and T didn't get much different. After that I wear -15dB ear plugs every minutes when I practice at home.

And this year, Jan 2017, as mentioned above, my right ear get worse and T also appear in my left ear. I start to think I should wear earplugs when I am teaching because my work place is a tiny room that reflect sound right into my poor ears. But there are some problems, which makes me resist wearing earplugs in class in the past, is that when I wearing earplugs I can't hear subtle sound, which is quite important for me to hear it in classical music. I can't remember which brand of filter I am using, maybe Etymotic -15dB not for sure. I want to try more brands now.

Can anyone suggest which brand have the best quality filter? Also, I am so afraid my students or anyone to see me wearing earplugs, any suggestion on more invisble earplugs? Thanks.

2. fhs
      Fine

fhs Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gun range