Pulsating Tinnitus from ETD

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Nole, Apr 24, 2015.

1. Nole

Nole Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2015
      I've been battling pulsating tinnitus since Jan 2015 after a sinus infection and ear infection. It's my right ear only. I've been Dx with Eustachian tube dysfunction and chronic fluid in ear. Have tried steroids, Allegra d, mucinex, garlic oil, ear candling and nasal irrigation. Some work better then others. The nasal irrigation gives me most relief. I had this same issue two years ago, it did clear up with time, about 6 months. So here I am waiting again pulsating away consistently feeling ear pressure and pain. Anyone else have some other recommendations?

2. Danny Boy
      Cheerful

Danny Boy Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      7/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      The only true things that work could be Campral, trobalt or keppra. There's not much else...If you wanna be herbal, then try cats claw, some people have found relief using it.

3. LovesToTeach
      Chatty

LovesToTeach Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Cold/pregnancy/stress
      Can they not do a myringotomy or grommets for the fluid?

4. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      Hi, Nole,

I have pulsatile tinnitus in my right ear, too, but not for the same reasons. When my pulsating first started, my doctor also recommended nasal irrigation and gave me a course of steroids to take. It didn't work for me (mine started due to a blood pressure drug), but the nasal irrigation was helpful for sinuses. Perhaps you could try going to another doctor for a second opinion?