Regenerative Brain Cell Therapy Procedure to Inhibit Hyperactivity

Discussion in 'Research News' started by spedgas, Nov 2, 2022.

1. spedgas
      Scared

spedgas Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      OHSU second in the country to perform regenerative brain cell therapy procedure

I work at the hospital this procedure will be performed at. I worked as an OR nurse for 18 years with the doctor quoted in this article. For over a decade of that I saw him improve and innovate DBS for Parkinson's patients.

I'm wondering if there's any potential indications this could help with overactivity in the brain related to tinnitus.

The quote that excites me is "the inhibitory nerve cells, called interneurons, are designed to quell hyperactivity in the focal point of the patient’s brain that causes seizures."

If this could quell hyperactivity in the part of the brain associated with tinnitus they may be on to something here. Something tells me nobody in research will ever look into this, but I hope they do.

• Like Like x 3
      • Informative Informative x 2
      • Good Question Good Question x 1
      • Winner Winner x 1
    2. MaximBrutii

MaximBrutii Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Medication induced, Wellbutrin
      I work as a pharmacist for another hospital (LEMC) that's in the same city as OHSU. I'm ever hopeful for any news coming from Portland regarding tinnitus. If they were to design some sort of experiment in the area, I'll be first in line to sign up!

• Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. prowlinacage

prowlinacage Member Podcast Patron Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      05/10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Long-term noise exposure
      I also live in Portland. I’ll be second in line to sign up!

• Like Like x 2
    4. CRGC
      No Mood

CRGC Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      SNRI/Noise