Restaurant and work

Discussion in 'Support' started by KarinSanna, Apr 21, 2013.

1. KarinSanna

KarinSanna Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2013
      Hi, I am fairly new in this tinnitus situation and still is a bit worried about what to do and not to do. Do you guys go out to restaurants? Is that working fine for you? I am trying to use the guideline, can I talk with and hear the other persons without making my voice any louder it is fine. In places with loader sound I use earplugs.

I am doubting a bit about whether or not to take a job at a lunch restaurant this summer. I know the place and they play load background music and it is not to bussy. The guest will be served on paper plates and with plastic knives and forks, so no problem with sounds form that. Do any of you have experience with this kind of jobs?

Am I wrong thinking that my ears can do as much sounds as before my T? Like being in a restaurant etc? Or is my ears more sensitive now? What is going on in there? :)

2. Royal&Bourbon
      No Mood

Royal&Bourbon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Karin,

You can order a small decibel reader online at fairly reasonable cost, or if you have a smart phone, there is a decibel reader app you can download in order to test the environment in question for sound levels. As I'm sure you realize, it's not just the decibel level, but the time of exposure that matters. One such graph showing permissible exposure levels and times is shown below. (FYI other studies and organizations might have slightly different numbers; this is just one such chart I found that popped up near the top of a Google search).