Scared... Popping Noise in Ear After Loud Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Myriam, Feb 2, 2016.

1. Myriam
      Confused

Myriam Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2013
      Hi all.

This is my first time posting here.

For three days now I've been having this "popping" sound in my right ear everytime I yawn, burp or when I rumble my eardrums. (I don't know why or how I do it but I can make my eardrums rumble and it sounds like rolling thunder.)

It's never happened before. It sounds like... a bottle of wine being opened?

The night before the noise started happening, I had a very loud T in the same ear and since I couldn't get any sleep. I went to bed with earphones (earbuds), listening to some white noise and binaural beats, trying to ignore the T.

I get very loud Ts like that every 2 or 3 months, it usually lasts between 4 and 8 hours, not always in the same ear. I've also had permanent ringing in both ears for almost three years now (started after taking some Claritin D, never stopped) but it's not very loud so I got used to it. Been to an ENT once, he had no idea what was the cause. I also have moderate hypothyroidism but it's under control.

The "popping" sound started a couple hours after I woke up and the T was gone.

If I press a finger on my tragus and try to make the sound happen, it's not working. Same if I "snort" (but then the second I swallow my saliva, it's back). If I get water in my ear, the sound is somewhat muffled for a little while.

It's not painful, although the inside of my ear feels a little more sensitive than usual, maybe... Can't say that I feel a fullness either. No draining, no swelling (not that I can feel at least). It's just that it's been bothering me for a couple days now and part of me is scared that it won't go away like my permanent ringing. :(