School Exams with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Fanrong, Jun 18, 2022.

1. Fanrong
      Stressed

Fanrong Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Visual Snow Syndrome
      Hello everyone, this weekend will be toughest weekend in my life. In Turkey there is a yearly college entry exam. As a native student I cannot get into any college in Turkey without that exam.

I have a 67 dB tinnitus and it sounds louder when I am stressed. In the exam I will most probably feel it around 75-80 dB. I need to be among the first 300,000 of 3,000,000 people who enters the exam, to get into any engineering field.

But I can't stand silence. I can't Imagine being in complete silence for 3 hours without a break and solving 50 paragraph questions and 40 mathematics problems.

To be able to get a good college education in my country, I need to be successful on that exam. can't afford studying abroad.

Also, I ask myself; "Even if I get into a good college, can I focus on my studies there, will my tinnitus distract me again?"

I tried a practice test before and I couldn't focus on what I read because of my tinnitus. After 30 minutes I gave up and quit.

Before my tinnitus, I was a successful student. But after it I started to lose my focus in lessons and I couldn't hear my inner voice while reading.

• Hug Hug x 5
    2. BrOKeN_1

BrOKeN_1 Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      High Frequency Hearing Loss
      This is tough buddy. Tinnitus has wrecked my ability to concentrate in silence as well. As we tend to revert to dwelling on the noise as it steals focus. Studying was never my strong suit either.

I wear some Oticon hearing aids that can add white noise and that seems to help entertain the tinnitus a little while trying to be focus driven. I don't know if you can got your hands on any hearing aids. But maybe that could be of some assistance.