Setback in Tinnitus and Hyperacusis After Blow-Off Valve Popped and Dumped Air Quickly

Discussion in 'Support' started by CB7x, Mar 17, 2021.

1. CB7x

CB7x Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      I'm pretty new at this, 11 months since the trauma that took my mild and intermittent tinnitus up to loud and constant, then developed hyperacusis later (overprotecting may have contributed).

I normally work in a fairly quiet environment but occasionally have to go into noisy parts of the plant. I had to go into a compressor room yesterday and today, not for long, and the compressors we have are relatively quiet as compressors go (rather than obscenely loud consumer oil-less or high RPM oiled type).

Yesterday I was in there, not directly next to any equipment. I had earplugs on me but since I've been doing so well tolerating louder (but safe) sound I chose not to put them in unless it was too loud for me since nobody else uses protection or finds it too loud to work in that area for far longer periods than I did. I got a minor tinnitus spike that went away.

Today I had to briefly go in that room again. I did what I had to do, stepped outside around a corner and started talking with someone, then a blow-off valve popped and dumped a large amount of air quickly... Loud and high pitched while only a second or less in duration (I couldn't plug ears fast enough), exactly what sets off my tinnitus and hyperacusis. Granted I'm familiar with that type of noise and before my trauma it never caused any problems... but now I'm suffering, having a couple of drinks, listening to quiet notched music, waiting for tinnitus to subside and it seems to be getting there but my ears feel full. Hoping I'll be back to baseline tomorrow, or soon.