So Happy to Have Found This Place!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by pianocat, Oct 4, 2015.

1. pianocat

pianocat Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2012
      Hi all. I have a whole lot of reading to do here, but I wanted to introduce myself first and share my experience with this condition. How I found your forum was a Google search of 'flying with tinnitus'. And here I am.

I have been a pianist/teacher my entire adult life. Music has always been an essential part of my life. [For the record, I'm 59 y.o. now] I noticed in the Fall of 2012 that there was a subtle, but slight ringing in my left ear. It didn't "suddenly" appear, rather, gradual recognition of its presence. I did a bit of research, and I clearly fit the criteria for work-related onset as I sit at the edge of a grand piano listening to students play on a daily basis. Talked to my Dr. about this, as well as several student parents who are physicians as well. Every one tells me basically the same thing......there's no cure for this. [Naturally I'm looking fwd. to reading the section of the forum about treatments]. So, I've accepted that this is the way it is. Over time, the ringing in the left ear has increased and add to that a sensation in the right ear of the equivalent of holding a shell up to one's ear. My hearing isn't adversely affected, at least in the sense of loss. It's the opposite. I'm ultra sensitive to loud noises, and this, naturally, is affecting my work. Students who are working on pieces marked 'very loud' need to be able to play at that level for me....but I find myself putting a finger in one or both ears at those moments. I bought some very inexpensive foam ear plugs, and that doesn't seem to help much.