So Musicians... How Do You Keep Your Career Going, Continue Performing and Listening to Music?

Discussion in 'Support' started by derpytia, Jul 7, 2014.

1. derpytia
      Pooptoast

derpytia Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2014 (many increases since then)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Progressive hearing loss / noise / ETD
      I am a musician with some high frequency hearing loss and tinnitus. I will have tinnitus for the rest of my life, I know that for a fact. I've been going to college for a BA degree in Music Industry Studies so I can get a career in music. I have been actively a part of the music scene for basically all of my life. I can't afford to go backwards and choose to do something else because I do not have the time or the money (I am also really bad at math and science hahaha).

And I now have tinnitus as a life long companion.

My question for the musicians out there (and I mean the ones who still actively participate in music or have a career in music, not the ones who have quit or given it up) is how do you do it? How do you keep your career going and continue to perform or listen to music with this condition? Because I want to continue.

What are things you have done that have worked? How do you get through your day constantly surrounded by music? How do you go around your colleagues know what a taboo subject tinnitus is in the music community?

Basically I'm asking, what should I do? How do I do it? Because I don't have other options really and it would be my greatest unhappiness to have to give all of this up.

2. Quentino
      Tired

Quentino Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Decrease of Hearing i presume.
      As nobody answered your question ( quite specific question), i will answer.

I have a friend who got his T at a huge rock festival. T and a little hyperacusis.