Spike or Further Damage?

Discussion in 'Support' started by matfromaust, Oct 8, 2015.

1. matfromaust
      Procrastinating

matfromaust Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear wax/Flu
      Hey guys

I posted once when I initially had a ringing in my ears, it was brought on or atleast made noticeable after I had impacted ear wax.

After having my ear cleaned the ringing went down by alot, it was always still there and I couldn't even remember if I always had it and never really noticed or if it was something new.

Since then I've been more careful with my hearing, turned the music down. Always wear ear protection at work, I'm a carpenter and use power tools.

If anything I would have said I was ok with it, it was only a problem if I slept with my ear cupped on my pillow.
      Today however, I was in a very noisy environment, inside a new factory working, there was a 20tonne excavator doing work inside the shed to make way for the concrete floor, generators and power tools going.
      Since my initial onset I went to the hardware store and bought the most expensive ear muffs I could that claimed to block out the most noise, which they do. I wore those ear muffs all day today and I thought it was ok, they blocked out a good amount of the noise. Surprisingly I was the only person who had ear protection On.
      Now I sit here typing this wondering why my tinnitus feels louder again? Could the ear muffs be doing something with the pressure inside my ears? I feel like my hearing is fine, if anything I keep feeling like I'm talking too loud for conversation but my partner assures me I'm not.

I feel scared, sick in the stomach at the thought it will be loud again like the ear wax. Going through this makes me understand the feeling of being depressed. I don't want to be a downer but I wanted to get this feeling off my chest and hopefully see if anyone else had experienced similar Symptoms.

Thanks in advance to anyone who reads this