Strong Pulsatile Tinnitus Mainly When Getting Up from Lying Down, or Standing Up After Sitting

Discussion in 'Support' started by Pebbles1, Jul 28, 2020.

1. Pebbles1

Pebbles1 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi, so basically I’m new to having tinnitus and I wanted to get people's opinions on what I’m experiencing right now. I’m 17 years old and I’ve had normal tinnitus since Februaryish this year and it’s just slowly but surely become louder and more problematic.

Originally it was just high pitched in both ears but as time went on I noticed it become much worse in my left ear. My left ear then had different sounds such as fizzing, crackling, quiet pulsing when my neck was in a certain position and many other random sounds.

My right ear is okay, it seems to be the general high pitched tinnitus, but since 5 days ago I’ve noticed a really strong pulsatile tinnitus in my left ear. I’d only ever get pulsatile tinnitus if my neck was in a funny position or when my blood pressure gets very high (after exercise), however this new pulsatile tinnitus happens no matter what I do with my neck.

It’s like a strong whooshing sensation more than a sound and it is triggered sometimes randomly but mainly when I change position from lying down to sitting up or from sitting to standing, and then calms after a few minutes.

When it first happened it didn’t feel pulsatile but the more I pay attention to it I feel like I do notice it pulsing, I’m not sure if it’s exactly in time with my pulse though, it feels slower usually and sometimes a little irregular.

The best way to describe it is like a really strong whooshing feeling but a thunderstorm sound in my ear.