Sudden Bilateral Tinnitus for 1 Month — Normal Audiogram and Ear Pressure

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by D-alt, Feb 8, 2022.

1. D-alt

D-alt Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi - Sorry for the long post, I'm new to tinnitus and this is just some background info for anyone that may have advice or a similar experience.

I noticed a buzzing/static noise in my head (which I think comes from my left ear) and a medium/high pitched whistle tone in my right ear around the beginning of January. I woke up one morning with it and thought it would go away but it hasn't subsided. My tinnitus can be heard over most things but walking along a street with busy traffic does mask it.

I booked an audiogram appointment two days after it developed and the results were within the normal range for my age (24). I then saw a nurse practitioner within the same week who noted some redness and bubbles behind my left eardrum. She prescribed some antibiotics and nasal spray hoping it was just an infection. This cleared the bubbles/fluid however the noise is the same. I've had another audiogram recently which again was normal. A test to check ear pressure was performed and this too was normal.

Weirdly, I have been slightly congested since Christmas (6/7 weeks!). Nothing major, just a blocked nostril every day and post nasal drip for which I'm still using a corticosteroid nasal spray. This has been getting better but slowly. I hear more 'clicking' noises when swallowing since this all started, presumably from being congested and the Eustachian tubes being a bit gluey.