Sudden Ear Fullness and Ringing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by ComfortSounds, Dec 5, 2018.

1. ComfortSounds

ComfortSounds Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I've been struggling with a tinnitus bout since October 28th of this year.

As a preface: I am a music producer and regularly listen to music and sounds. In my younger years, I managed a music venue and attended shows sometimes multiple times a week. I also performed in a few bands and was around rather loud noise. "But surely you wore earplugs," you say. Let me tell you, earplugs were some sort of visual stigma in the 1990s. More often than not, I never had ear protection.

When I was maybe sixteen, I had my first longer experience with tinnitus. It was maddening. I recall pacing around at night, feeling overwhelmed at the concept that the ringing might never go away. This went on for some time, though I couldn't say the extent of it now. But definitely far beyond your average post concert ear ringing/muffled sound. In the end, it turned out that I had a B Vitamin deficiency. Upon regularly taking a B Vitamin supplement, the ringing went away entirely.

Here's the thing. I became considerably more conscious of my ear health over time. I also rarely played in a band type setting, and my involvement with music events dramatically decreased. To my knowledge, I don't believe I've been at a live music event of any kind in four or five years. I haven't been exposed to any unusually loud sounds during that time. I do use headphones at times. Never more than a few hours per week. I almost always have music playing while I work, sometimes at louder volumes. Still, I sincerely doubt it's ever more than 85 decibels on average. I get it, you don't want to overexpose yourself at those levels.

My point is, I haven't done much to hurt my ears during my 30s. At least, to the best of my knowledge.