Sudden Onset Patient Wants to Be Proactive

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by LadyDi, Jul 13, 2013.

1. LadyDi
      Busy

LadyDi Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Barotrauma/airplane
      Greetings, all: I am a 57-year-old professional journalist who, two months ago, developed tinnitus following a transatlantic flight in which I had a lot of ear pain. I had a sinus infection prior to flying, although it had been treated and no one suggested not traveling. It is fairly unusual to develop tinnitus specifically from barotrauma, but it does happen. And I believe that's what happened to me, although my ENT disagrees.

What was truly challenging is I developed a severe anxiety reaction about two weeks into the tinnitus -- apparently a reaction to the stress and the noise, as I had no real prior history of anxiety. It was hell. But I am building a good team of doctors and therapists, learning what I can and determined to get to the point that some day, this will be just an annoyance that I have learned to live with. At this point, I still am able to work, although the anxiety was so severe I considered short-term disability for awhile. Looking forward to learning from you all.

LadyDi

2. mick

mick Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2012
      Hi LadyDi,