The Good and Bad News — Am I Dependent on My Tinnitus? How Would I Feel If My Tinnitus Stopped?

Discussion in 'Support' started by MajaC, Nov 13, 2018.

1. MajaC
      Not worthy

MajaC Member

Tinnitus Since:
      fleeting (2012) Chronic (end 2017)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Birth, hearing loss, hearing trauma
      Hey,

So it's been quite some time since my last activity on this forum. I came sometimes to read, but as I was really busy, I didn't had time to participate. Even now, I should be working on things instead of writing this.

The good news
      Let's start with them, don't we? So, my dad, who I've never seen in relationship (and I'm 20), got a girlfriend. She is really nice. I haven't gotten to talk to her that much since my dad's work on ship so he's often away and that I'm a last year student and all.

I'm not talking about her for nothing. In fact, her daughter works as an audiologist. Well, I think since her mom just said that "she works with people who needs hearing aids and can prescribe and adjust them" or something like that. She said she will talk to her daughter about me since my audiologist said that even if my hearing decreases a little fast, my ENT doesn't consider it bad enough for trying anything. Well, it was one year ago. I have to wait one or two month again to have another audiogram.

Also, the sounds generator, nature sounds and all, were never working for my tinnitus. The only way I could mask my tinnitus was with music, but my tinnitus became so much worse that the music could not (and still cannot) mask my tinnitus. But, now I found music that masks my tinnitus. It's Take Me Home, Country Roads but it’s being played on a summer night from your neighbor’s porch.

Take Me Home, Country Roads but it’s...

Since it has crickets, it cancels the sound of my tinnitus and even if I normally have to put the sound loud to hear it correctly, I don't mind let it be at 50% volume because the sound is already muffled.

Bad news