The Great Return of My Hyperacusis

Discussion in 'Support' started by Piotr, Sep 6, 2015.

1. Piotr

Piotr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      ----
      Hello everyone,

3 years ago I went to a festival where I suffered from acoustic trauma. I’m not sure what caused it – I stood far away from the main speakers and not for too long. After the festival, my left ear was full and slightly aching and I could feel that I was over-sensitive to sounds. I didn’t care whether it was the frequency of sounds or their volume that gave me this unpleasant sensation. I knew that something was wrong – like I had some “filter” taken off my ear. After a week, the pain and fullness disappeared but the hyperacusis remained and I struggled with it for 6-8 months. In the meantime, I visited 2 useless ENTs and 1 audiologist who recommended me trying TRT. I waited three months for sound generators (luckily I had a full refund for this bloody-expensive stuff due to the fact that I was a student then) and when I was given them, I was full of doubts. First of all, my audiologist said that I needed to wear two generators at the same time, although I had hyperacusis only in my left ear. Secondly, she instructed me to set the volume just below the volume of my tinnitus which was ridiculous because I didn’t suffer from it. I saw that she was quite confused with my one-side hyperacusis as well as my lack of tinnitus after the acoustic trauma. Nevertheless, I wore them for about three weeks, stopped to wear them (I don’t remember why) and sold them, probably because I started to see some little improvement on its own. My hyperacusis slowly went away and after 1,5 year I didn’t remember about the whole incident. That ear remained more sensitive to some frequencies and I had some little setbacks but I accepted it as a nature of my left ear.